Regions and Districts

As a member of WSNA, you are also a member of the District or Regional Nurses Association for the county in which you live.

Current Region and District Nurses Associations

District 5
Walla Walla county

District 6
City of Yakima and north Yakima county

District 7
Chelan, Douglas and Grant counties

District 10
Wahkiakum and Cowlitz counties

District 11
Clark and Skamania counties

District 15
Benton and Franklin counties

District 18
Kittitas county

Inland Empire Nurses Association
Adams, Lincoln, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens and Whitman counties

King County Nurses Association
King county

Northwest Region
Island, San Juan, Skagit, Snohomish and Whatcom counties

Pierce County Nurses Association
Clallam, Grays Harbor, Jefferson, Kitsap, Mason, Pierce and Thurston counties

Transition from Districts to Regions

In 2018, the WSNA Board of Directors approved a plan to create Regional Nurses Association, combining multiple existing WSNA Districts to better meet the needs of members.

District Nurses Associations have been a part of WSNA from the beginning. Districts are unrelated to Local Units and are not involved in collective bargaining (union) activities. All members of WSNA are also members of their District or Regional Nurses Association. They are supported by a portion of membership dues and are intended to provide educational offerings, scholarship fundraising and networking on a local level. While larger Districts have successfully fulfilled that mission, most of the county-based districts are too small to effectively manage a program of local offerings.

The combined resources of Regional Nurses Associations will offer members more opportunities and, we trust, result in more vibrant organizations. Two regional associations have been formed, with more on the way:

Northwest Region Nurses Association

In late January 2018, members of three WSNA districts voted to join together as the Northwest Region Nurses Association. The new region encompasses WSNA members in Skagit, Island, San Juan, Snohomish and Whatcom counties.

Expanded Pierce County Nurses Association

In December 2018, boundaries for PCNA were expanded to form a regional association that spans seven counties: Pierce, Thurston, Kitsap, Mason, Grays Harbor, Jefferson and Clallam. PCNA, which has served members for 100 years, will now support 3,187 nurses across the Olympic Peninsula.

Common questions

Why do regions/districts exist?

District nurses associations in Washington state first formed as "county graduate nurses associations" as far back as the late 1890s, and they exist to this day. District and Regional Nurses Associations provide educational offerings, scholarship fundraising and networking on a local level.

Am I a member of a region/district?

Yes. All WSNA members are a member of the region or district for the county in which they live.

How are regions/districts different from local units?

Local units are an important part of the collective bargaining program and are specific to the facility where an individual nurse works. Those WSNA members who are represented by WSNA for collective bargaining are also members of the local unit for the facility at which they work.

Regions/districts are not involved in collective bargaining (union) activities and are determined by the county in which a member resides. Every WSNA member is a member of the Regional or District Nurses Association for the county in which they live.